Folding Kayaks Forum

The user forum for FoldingKayaks.org
It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 3:31 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Pouch RZ85 solo
PostPosted: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:28 am 
recent arrival

Hello and greetings from Finland!

I have been reading this forum quite a lot lately and found lots of good information. As I am a beginner in both kayaking and folding kayaking I would like to ask some questions regarding Pouch RZ85. I just found one used Pouch RZ85 which the seller asks for 550 euros, a bit over 700 USD. The boat seems to be in good condition.

Is it good idea to paddle Pouch RZ85 solo and how will it perform? What kind of problems there might be when paddling this boat solo? I know that some of the twoseaters can be paddled solo also e.g. Wayland Amazon. Some of these also have conversion kits in order to relocate the seat into better position for solo paddling. This kayak does not have the conversion kit, does it make the solo paddling properties dramatically worse?

I would use this maybe 50/50 solo and twoseater. There will be fishing, daytrips and maybe some longer trips.

About my background: I'm about 170cm tall so it would make 5.6 feet and weight 70kg, i.e. 155 pounds. I haven't been kayaking before, but I do have some experience on other watersports and boating.

Any other information or comments about RZ85 are also welcome.

Thanks

-Antti

Post subject: Re: Pouch RZ85 solo
PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 1:14 am 
recent arrival

Sorry, I accidentally posted this to wrong place. Should be in Pouch subforum.

Thanks

-Antti

PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:18 am 
lord high faltbotmeister