Folding Kayaks Forum

The user forum for FoldingKayaks.org
It is currently Sat Dec 14, 2019 10:47 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 2:47 am 
forum fanatic

Hi everyone,

I'm intending to build my first folder, probably an Aleutian type for expedition use. The Aleutian kayak on page 17 from David Zimmerly's book "Qayaq - kayaks from Alaska and Siberia" looks very nice. This is my first time attempting to build kayak from plans, and I don't understand how to interpret the offsets to "stations" - in other words, the offsets seem somewhat random (every 50cm) and not where the main stations are. Especially important is that the offsets seem not to be in sync with the cockpit. Any advice?

Or - Does anyone have good plans and is willing to share?/Where can I find good plans?

Other possibilities that seem reasonable to me are from the Yostwerks site - the Sea Tour EXP (17) and the Nikumi (17). Does anyone have experience with either?

Thank you!

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2018 6:24 am 
forum fanatic

You could get a copy of "The Aleutian Kayak" book by Wolfgang Brinck. He gives a fairly decent breakdown on building a Biadarka. I built one last year and learned a lesson on forming the ribs. Always flatten the ribs at the in the middle of the kayak or the boat will roll on a dime.

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2018 4:58 pm 
Brotherhood of the Golden Paddle

You might find clark craft interesting. They have many plans for skin on frame kayaks and if I remember correct two folders. But these may not be the type of kayak you want as they are something like the klepper, folbot kayaks, but worth a look.

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2018 2:43 pm 
forum fanatic