Free diver looking for the right kayak

A place to answer questions from newcomers.

Moderators: chrstjrn, mje, krudave

SuperheroRobot
recent arrival

Free diver looking for the right kayak

Post by SuperheroRobot »

Hi,

I enjoy free diving in Monterey Bay California. I'm interested in getting a kayak but I do not have the storage space for it. I would primarily use this kayak in the ocean, and would need to get in and out in the water. I've used non foldable kayaks before for free diving, so I have some experience.

These are my interest or needs...
- I'm not too concerned with assembly time or complexity. I have a VW westfalia, so I could put it on top. I just don't have a place to stow a non foldable.
- Probably wouldn't take it on a plane, so size and weight aren't a concern.
- Something that's reasonably stable in the water and somewhat open so I can get in and out in the water.
- Performs well, something comparable to a non foldable kayak used for diving, like a sit on top.
- Something that can handle mild waves, not flat, but some small waves.
- Reasonably repairable.
- Gear space. As a free diver I don't cary much gear and I don't hunt, but some space to cary gear would be nice.

Thank you for any advice.

voyageur
forum fan

Re: Free diver looking for the right kayak

Post by voyageur »

I think you're going to have to look for some kind of outrigger system to make it easy enough to get back in, but once you add that then any good folder should work for you.
2003 Folbot Yukon 70th anniv. model, 2010 Folbot Kodiak

SuperheroRobot
recent arrival

Post by SuperheroRobot »

Hi, thank you for your response. I've used non foldable sit on top kayaks for free diving without an outrigger. However an outrigger would be nice :)

KerryOnKayaks
lord high faltbotmeister

Post by KerryOnKayaks »