Folding Kayaks Forum

The user forum for FoldingKayaks.org
It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 10:47 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 7:44 am 
Hi - I'm George. I'm new to all this. I'm looking for WWII Cockle Mark II plans. A user called tford posted he had some plans for sale way back in July 2007 but it doesn't look like he's a member anymore. Can anyone help?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 5:35 pm 
knight of the folding kayak realm

I don't know the whereabouts of plans but the author of a recent book on them, Quentin Rees, should be able to help you. I had a feeling he was a poster here not that long ago. Try googling him in any case, and search this forum for posts mentioning 'cockleshell heroes'. I think he has a website ...

By the by, I noticed that a Mark II cockle was recently up for sale on ebay here in Britain. I wanted to have a quick look but ebay had some auto block on that prevented British users from viewing the sale. Almost certainly something to do with military goods, though how they can justify allowing a Brit to advertise for sale one of these dangerous military canoes while preventing them viewing the bleeding ad, I've no idea. ;-) I wonder what it went for in the end.

All the best,
Ian

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2011 5:21 am 
Thanks - I've just got Quentin Reeve's book so I'll try him

George

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2011 8:10 pm 
lord high faltbotmeister