Folding Kayaks Forum

The user forum for FoldingKayaks.org
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:03 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2014 3:03 am 
recent arrival

Hi, I'm interested in building the folding Sea Cruiser from yostwerks.com. I'm new to this, so I'm more or less strictly following the guide. I'm having some problems sourcing the aluminum tubes -- it seems that the .75" x .058" tubes are out of stock most places. However, I found a local source with .75" x .065" tubes. I realize that these tubes would not fit neatly with the .625" OD tubes for the inserts.

My question -- has anyone tried using the .75" x .065" tubes? Or would it be best to wait for the .058" tubes to come back in stock?

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2014 5:22 pm 
recent arrival

I've been wondering about tube thickness and alloy myself. It seems like getting anodized tube would help keep it from oxidizing. I've been looking at: http://www.brunnerent.com/Tools/Portfolio/frontend/item.asp?type=6&size=0&lngDisplay=0&jPageNumber=4&strMetaTag=

and http://www.mcmaster.com/#4568t16/=sp0sm3

Yostworks makes the claim that 6061 and 6063 have a tensile strength of 40,000psi but onlinemetals lists 6063 at 27,000psi and 6063 at 45,000psi. McMaster says 22-30 ksi for 6063 and 35-45 for 6061. I must say this is the first time I've see ksi as a unit of measure. 6063 generally seems cheaper, the corrosion resistance and easy availability in clear anodized is a plus. I'm leaning that way but I'm concerned about strength.

I have no answers, but lots of questions. Maybe we should look closely at the specs of commercial folders.

-Liam

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 6:54 pm 
recent arrival

I actually managed to find and order my 6063 tubing. I get that nice sliding fit too! I sourced my tubes from dxengineering -- they were in stock and shipped very quickly.