Folding Kayaks Forum

The user forum for FoldingKayaks.org
It is currently Wed Dec 12, 2018 11:33 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 8:51 pm 
recent arrival

Hello all,
Last summer in my last couple of paddles and then again this past paddle I noticed my Kiawah pulling pretty noticeably to the right. I'm a pretty novice paddler so my initial thought was that it was my technique, which it very well may be. However, I'm a bit worried that I may have bent the frame on the boat last summer when I had it car topped on a long trip from Vancouver Island back to Saskatchewan.

I've noticed that the frame is not symmetrical down the centre when comparing the top centre stringer to the bottom one. I've looked at some other pics online of frames and it seems like this isn't particularly uncommon, but I'm still not sure. It could be an assembly issue, but no matter how I tried to shift it this asymmetry was always there.

I've attached some photos. Anyone have any experience with this? I'm still inclined to think it's just a problem with my form, but if the frame is messed up I'd like to determine that so I can try to fix it.

Thanks,

Ryan

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2017 2:09 pm 
recent arrival

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2017 2:44 pm 
lord high faltbotmeister

Hi there,

Eagled-eyed Folbot experts may spot something I'm missing but I can't see anything significantly assymetrical in the photos.

Pardon my question, but as you say you're a novice, is it possible that you' e been paddling in side winds or winds from the aft quarter? If so, then perhaps your kayak is heading slightly into the wind (weathercocking). You can check by eg heading directly into the wind to see if it still pulls to one side. If it does pull into the wind in side winds, then leaning into the wind or sitting off centre on the windward side while you paddle will help.