Folding Kayaks Forum

The user forum for FoldingKayaks.org
It is currently Sun Aug 18, 2019 4:09 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: London Calling
PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 5:17 pm 
Hi all,
What a fabulous site! I am a relative newbie to kayaking, I did a little as a child and continue to use S.O.T sea kayaks on holidays etc but my main interest is in construction. I have a keen interest in folding kayaks after picking up the Percy Blandford book "Canoes and Canoeing" and have ordered plans from Clark Craft for the BK19 17ft Folding double. I intend to start building within the next few months and look to contribute to this forum as time goes on.
All the best and look forward to exploring this site in great depth!
Best regards
M

Post subject: Re: London Calling
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:37 am 
Brotherhood of the Golden Paddle

Welcome M!

Look forward to seeing what you build. Starting to think along those line myself a bit.

D

Klepper S4 sail rig
Kayaksailor 1.6 +genoa
BSD 36HP

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 7:33 pm 
Hi D,
Many thanks! Looks like we have ourselves some projects ahead? What sort of craft are you thinking of building? I am quite 'oldskool' in my outdoors outlook, the family all camp in a 5 metre bell tent for weekends away and a three metre bell tent for festivals so a vintage style kayak would suit us just fine.. have a possible restoration job on one craft coming up in the meantime. Will see how that pans out.
All the best
M

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 3:47 pm 
Brotherhood of the Golden Paddle