Possible Folbot newbee

Moderators: mje, krudave

Blueflash
paddler

Possible Folbot newbee

Post by Blueflash »

Looking at 1971 model 17ft two seater tomorrow, all original per the seller. Looks good in the pics. Been kayaking in rigid touring kayaks since 2004 but want something lighter and easier to get in and out of. My ole Tempest is 17ft and weighs 71lbs and the cockpit has shrunk considerably over the years. Any tips on what I should be on the look out for since I have no experience with a Folbot?

RangerTim
knight of the folding kayak realm

Re: Possible Folbot newbee

Post by RangerTim »

A boat is a hole in the water into which to throw money. You are looking at a long-discontinued boat with many parts whose manufacturer ceased business years ago. Any missing or broken parts must be fabricated or located here or on ebay. The skin (deck and hull as one piece) can be replaced but at huge expense. You do not expect perfection at this age, but I for one am not looking for another project boat. This is not to say that a 1971 Folbot might not be complete and in excellent condition. Just beware.

If the boat had been assembled, ask the seller to disassemble and reassemble. Problems not evident in an assembled boat may show themselves during assembly.

Before assembly handle the deck fabric to check for weakness. Same with the hull. Fold the hull on itself looking for suppleness. Has the hull dried and cracked?

During assembly watch to see if parts must be tweaked to get the boat assembled.

Does the boat leak? If no body of water nearby, put a couple of inches or so of water inside without wetting the ground. Alternately lift bow and stern. See if water leaks out.

Good luck.
Ann and me
Folbots: Too many. It's embarrassing.
Feathercraft: Aeronaut
Klepper: AEI - Jonathan Waterman's boat
Hardshells x6

JohnSand
lord high faltbotmeister

Post by JohnSand »